Christ was crucified on Golgotha (Aramaic for "the Place of the Skull" translated into the Latin word Calvariae Locus, and in English as Mount Calvary.) There, in a sacrifice only He could make, He secured a victory only He could win. Though the act of the sacrifice was only over a few hours on a friday, the results have lasted every moment since.
Mt. Calvary Community Church also known as "the little church by the side of the road" or the "Church with the sign" has been a staple in the Franconia Rd/Beulah St community for over twenty years. The 100+ year old building has seen a lot of changes and growth in the area, but it still serves its purpose of creating a place where people can come together for the Praise and Worship of our God and our Lord and Savior, Jesus. An interdenominational church, Mt Calvary members come from a variety of faiths and backgrounds creating a unique family with a strong bond.
Mt Calvary has also been hosting Southern Gospel concerts for many years. Every year we send a representative to the National Quartet Convention to find new groups and to keep in contact with the groups that have become regulars. The church hosts more than 10 concerts every year, with each group offering a wonderful blend of humor, song and worship.
Edward Campbell - Pastor Emeritus Charlie W Wood, Jr. - Senior Pastor Matt Lanham - Assistant Pastor
Terry Lee Ryan Gene Allison Rick Mays Barbara O’Kane Craig Edwards
Charlie W Wood Jr. Monroe Bryant
Music Ministry Terry Lee Ryan Guity Adjoodani Vicki Cocuzzi
Missionary Ministries:Arlene & Eugene Allison Secretary:Haddie Higham, Annamarie Mays Treasurer:Jan Sullivan Financial Admin:.............. Building & Grounds Overseer: Bob Higham Web Master & Design: Terry Lee Ryan
Mt. Calvary Community Church came into existence when a group of seventeen people met together and a fellowship of believers was formed ... the date was July 9th, 1975.
Dr. Marvin H. Cave and Edward E. Campbell were instrumental in forming the group. After meeting in various homes for several weeks, Edward Campbell assumed the position of minister. The number of interested parties increased to such a degree that it was considered feasible to begin our own local church.
October 1, 1975
On this date the name of Mt Calvary Community Church was chosen as the official name. It was also decided that a place of public worship be found as soon as possible.
After worshiping in different homes, on October 12 1975, the first public service was held at Mt Eagle Elementary School. One year later the Mt Calvary congregation agreed to purchase the church property ay 6731 Beulah Street. Originally built in 1901, it was occupied by the Franconia Assembly of God from 1954 to 1979. In October 1976 both churches agreed to rent the church and for Mt Calvary to hold Sunday afternoon services and the Franconia Assembly of God to continue with their regular service until the completion of their new church.
January 21, 1979
Mt Calvary assumed possession of the church building at 6731 Beulah Street, Alexandria Virginia. As a group it can be said in agreement with the Psalmist: "This is the Lord's doing; it is marvelous in our eyes." Psalms 118:23
The cemetery was established by JOSEPH E. SCHURTZ c. 1945 and was being maintained under the direction of a group of trustees (Db 1525:466). The cemetery contains 120+ headstones and a number of unmarked graves. VAN DORN ST. & RTE. 495, FRANCONIA
This cemetery was moved to Mt. Calvary Community Church (FX 31) in the late 1960's, during the construction of Rte. 495. There were 38 markers lined up in a row by the eastern fence. Most of the stones were contemporary granite markers placed at the time of reinterment, though a few were original marble headstones that were moved with the remains.